Google Reviews

EXCELLENT
18 reviews on
Donghao Yan
Donghao Yan
2024-05-20
I had four classes with Lance and I’d highly recommend him to any adult looking to learn to ride a bike. Lance is exactly the kind of instructor you’d want if you’re nervous about learning to ride — he’s extremely knowledgeable, patient, and encouraging. Most importantly, he has a “fool-proof,” systematic way of teaching that you won’t find from your family or friends. In other words, Lance teaches you to understand and rely on the science and technology of the bike so that you can ride smoothly and approach any road situation with confidence. While I didn’t need four classes to be able to get on a bike and ride, I found the later classes equally important and helpful, as Lance shared advanced riding techniques and valuable road safety tips. Attached is a picture of Lance’s student bike on beautiful Randall’s Island!
Yelena Naginsky
Yelena Naginsky
2024-05-10
I had such a great experience with Lance at Virtuous Bicycle! He really loves what he does and cares so much about helping his students. I did three lessons over two weeks and this really allowed us to go slow and build my confidence - by the end of lesson 2 I was riding around comfortably and really enjoying it! Lance was so great at adapting his lessons as needed. Along the way he'd break things down in a really easy to understand way. He took photos and videos and then sent emails after each lesson with an analysis and things to focus on in preparation for the next lesson. I can't recommend this program enough!
Rezwanul Sajjad
Rezwanul Sajjad
2024-03-03
A little late, but I think about this almost every week. When you get older newer skills are hard to acquire. But Lance taught me how to ride a bike when I’m 32, and that’s a life lesson you never lose. He’s patient, kind, teaches you building on the foundations and I learned in 3 days. If you’re looking to learn, just stop searching and sign up with Lance. You’ll never regret the decision.
Andy Cheng
Andy Cheng
2023-10-23
Simply Amazing Experience… Until today, as an 18 year old young man, I had been wanting to learn how to ride a bike my whole life but I never followed through to actually learn it. One month ago I finally decided to go for my goal and I found Virtuous Bicycle. Lance has impressed me even before our first lesson. When you become his student, you would see all the emails he sent to you are super detailed and organized; he included all the information/instructions you would need: how to get to the meeting location, forecast of the day, what to wear, etc. Just from the emails alone, I can already see the amount of care and effort Lance put in for his students to be successful. I had four lessons and Lance’s systematic and effective way of guiding and teaching me had allowed me to make great progress in each lesson. From the very beginning, Lance patiently worked with me through a series of exercises that served the purpose of teaching me the physics of bicycle. What I love most about the whole experience is seeing how much care Lance put into my learning process; He’s a teacher who made sure I learned every detail of the foundation of biking correctly, no matter if it’s dismounting, using the brakes, relaxing my shoulders…The way Lance broke down each significant part of biking into small and detailed exercises showed how much work and care he put in in his lessons and why his students will be able to succeed. What made me feel most amazing and impressed during this experience is Lance never once used the word “Balance”, instead he focused on teaching me to trust the bike and always sit on the bike; which now as I realized, Lance helped me to rewire my reflexes and changed my brain’s constant worry of falling, which led to me learning how to balance! Lastly, I want to give my guarantee to people who are interested in Virtuous Bicycle that the learning process isn't scary at all! Lance’s method is smart and orderly that you will be able to learn a lot while also having fun! Lance is a wonderful man to work with and to talk to. It was very comfortable to work with him as he taught each lesson gently with patience, which allowed me to truly enjoy this learning experience. I felt very lucky to have found Virtuous Bicycle, not only because I learned how to ride a bike, but also just to know Lance, whose level of dedication in making an amazing learning experience for his students has inspired me to work harder toward my goals and dreams.
Deepika Hebbalalu
Deepika Hebbalalu
2023-09-30
Lance is a kind, patient, and fun instructor. It’s been a dream of mine to ride a bike through central park since I moved to NYC 6.5 years ago. Thanks for making it come true!
Joshua Mermelstein
Joshua Mermelstein
2023-08-18
What an experience learning to ride a bike as an adult! Lance is an incredible instructor who uses patience, technique and exceptionally helpful instruction to break down the process. I couldn't recommend him more strongly to anyone trying to learn or relearn cycling!
Eric Ng
Eric Ng
2023-08-03
I have been waiting to write this review for a while now - at least until I got pedals. I have nothing but great things to say about Lance and his bike lessons. Just like the other posts below, learning how to ride a bike at age 36 is not easy. My own quick bike story is I never learned how to bike growing up - it was just something my grandparents or parents never taught me. Only recently did I want to take on this challenge because every one I know knows how to ride a bike. I'm a believer of seeking discomfort and trying new things. Right before Lance, I had taken only 1 Bike NYC 101 class - it wasn't helpful. I was not able to glide at all. Some of the students automatically were given pedals after a few minutes but I wasn't. But I was determined to learn how to bike! A few quick Google searches resulted in Virtuous Bicycle showing up on the top of my results. I decided to submit an inquiry and follow up/schedule lessons. Lance has been a very patient teacher. He took his time to really teach me about all of the components of the bike such as the brakes, the pedals, the handle bar etc. Each of his lessons are cumulative and add up. It took me some time but recently, I was given pedals! Yay! I am currently still working with Lance to develop more confidence/less fear about biking, be less sloppy with my biking skills and bike longer distances. He's really helped me gain that confidence over time (previously, I couldn't even glide and was more fearful than I am now). Either way, I'm looking forward to more sessions w/ him. Bottom line - I highly recommend Lance for your bike lessons/training. Definitely inquire and sign up for bike lessons!
Zohra Damani
Zohra Damani
2023-07-18
Learning how to ride a bike, especially when you are 36, is not easy...Technically and emotionally. However, Lance, made the entire process stress free, fun, and an incredibly awesome learning experience. Lance has a unique method of teaching that really takes focus on ensuring our muscles in our body and brain are trained. Lance utilizes the techniques in such a beautiful manner that you are bound to learn how to ride a bike, without fail. I was always afraid of falling while learning and in my 5 lessons (approx 12-14 hrs), I had zero falls. I still remember the last day finishing our bike lesson and how I couldn't believe that I was finally riding at 36 ! Whether you are an adult wanting to learn or an adult wanting your child to learn, go with Lance. You will be extremely pleased with Lance and his way of teaching. Besides being an awesome instructor and my favorite instructor, Lance is a gem of a person. Such an amazing human, friend, and soul. Down to earth, humble, kind, and is friends with everyone at Central Park & Randall Islands. But now knowing Lance, I am not surprised at how quickly he warms hearts of many. Thank you Lance for giving me the gift of riding a bike. I am forever grateful.
Yonathan Perez
Yonathan Perez
2022-12-27
I've never learned how to bike as a child, which turned out to be quite a liability before heading to Burning Man. I had a tight schedule to learn how to bike from scratch, and Lance came to the rescue. With endless patience, and a well structured step-by-step program, Lance taught me the skills needed to ride a bike. I was gliding on the bike by the end of lesson one, paddling on lesson two, and riding freely on an actual (lightly trafficked) bike trail by the end of lesson three. The lessons were enjoyable and very well structured, and gave to the skills to practice further on my own and gain confidence. I would highly recommend learning how to bike with Lance, if you've never learned how to bike earlier in life, and my only regret is not learning sooner!


READ FULL REVIEWS directly on Google Reviews